Warenkorb

Child Destiny Foundation

The Kenyan Child Destiny Foundation was founded in 2013 with the purpose of improving the living conditions of single mothers and the lives of their children with disabilities in the Kibera slum.

Most of the founding members have a child with disabilities themselves and therefore know exactly what measures need to be taken to change the situation.

Most of the founding members have a child with disabilities themselves and therefore know exactly what measures need to be taken to change the situation.

Private
Commitment

Our work is based on the private commitment of the team members. They invest a lot of heart, soul and hours of their free time to improve the situation for children with disabilities in Kenya.

Direct
Funding

All donations collected in Austria directly benefit the children with disabilities. The money is used to finance the day-care centre and therapy centre in the Kibera slum.

Help for
Self-Help

The organization aims to change the living conditions so that single mothers of children with disabilities can once again work and provide for themselves.

Waiver of Advertising Expenses

It is very important to us to keep our expenses in Austria as low as possible. Therefore, we avoid unnecessary printed articles e.g.: advertising and postal mailings, as well as promotional items.

Team Austria

Claudia Patka

Founder | Chairwoman

During a voluntary service in Kenya, Claudia met some parents of children with disabilities, with whom she then founded the Child Destiny Foundation. Since then, she has been responsible for the fundraising and association work in Austria on a voluntary basis. Claudia is an occupational therapist and a life coach.

Manuela Patka

Deputy Chairwoman | Graphics

In her free time, Manuela, a budding architect, takes care of Child Destiny Foundation's graphic presence as well as the Instagram account. In addition, she oversees the online store and produces the unique earring collections on a voluntary basis.

Edith Neumeister

Treasurer

As a trained accountant, Edith always has an overview of the finances of the Child Destiny Foundation and does invaluable work in the background. Since the foundation of the association, Edith has been part of the management team and has made an important contribution to the achievement of donation deductibility.

Stefan Riedlberger

Auditor

Manfred Richter

Auditor

Team Kenya

Florence Arum

FOUNDER | DIRECTOR

Florence is a trained Biotechnologist, currently a final student of MSc. Microbiology with a background in teacher training. As a mother of a special child and a caregiver, she combines her role of part-time tutor and MSc. classes to create time of managing and overseeing all the activities of Child Destiny Kenya as a project director and volunteer.

Alex Omondi

FOUNDER | PROJECT MANAGER

Alex is a trained medic/clinician with a strong background in community development, project planning and management (BSc. Comm.H and Dev.) With a verse knowledge and experience in NGO's projects and private practice. As a father of a special needs child, he offers his technical skills and jointly steer Child Destiny Foundation Kenya in a trajectory path.
WhatsApp-Image-2021-02-02-at-20.16.03

Sylvia Awour

Daycare support

Sylvia is a single mother of two children and grew up in the Kibera Slum. After graduating from high school, it was not possible for her to pursue regular work due to a pre-existing medical condition. Since the birth of her son, who is cared for at Child Destiny Foundation's therapy and day-care centre, Sylvia has been part of the CDF family. In her work as a caregiver, she is very dedicated and cares lovingly for the children.

Evance Olouch

Occupational Therapist

Evance is a qualified occupational therapist and has been part of the Child Destiny Foundation since November 2021. During the daily therapy sessions, he encourages the children with disabilities to learn motor and sensory skills. With his humorous character and his solution-oriented approach, he supports the children in their physical development in a playful way.

Felista Muturi

Occupational Therapist

Felista joined Child Destiny Foundation in March 2022 following her training as an occupational therapist. Along with Evance, she works with children with disabilities to achieve greater independence in activities of daily living. This involves targeting important milestones in the child's development, as well as (re)learning missing functions.

Lydia Khavtsa

Daycare support

As the mother of a boy with disabilities, caretaker Lydia knows exactly what is important when it comes to childcare. She has accompanied her son Brian to the therapy center since 2017. As of 2019, she has been working full-time at Child Destiny Foundation, where she uses her positive and energetic attitude to make sure all the children are well taken care of. The food, which she freshly prepares every day, is enjoyed by young and old alike!

Jose Omondi Ochieng

Janitor

Jose grew up with his single mother in the Kibera slum. After graduating from high school in 2016, he worked for the National Youth Service for a period before joining the Child Destiny Foundation in January 2021.With his calm demeanor, he always keeps a watchful eye on the children, takes care of the cleaning and does all the maintenance work in the building.

Sheila Akoth

Volunteer

The niece of project manager Alex and Florence is at the day center almost every day, where she actively assists caregiver Lydia and the rest of the team. With her patient and loving nature, she is particularly well received by the children. She especially enjoys cooking and is not afraid to try new dishes.

Glorine

die Visionärin

She never stopped dreaming. Glorine Awour's love for her son, her fighting nature, and her belief in a better future, were the base for the establishment of the Child Destiny Foundation.

It was her vision to build a centre for mentally and physically challenged children and to create an environment where all children feel comfortable, safe and get the kind of support they need.

In January 2018, Glorine sadly passed away far too soon after her cancer, leaving a big hole in our hearts. Through the work of Child Destiny Foundation, Glorine's vision lives on.

A reason to act:

THE LIFE IN THE KIBERA SLUM

en_USEnglish

Warenkorb

Child Destiny Foundation

Die kenianische Stiftung Child Destiny Foundation wurde 2013 mit dem Zweck gegründet, die Lebensbedingungen von alleinerziehenden Müttern und ihren Kindern mit Behinderung im Slum Kibera zu verbessern.

Die Gründungsmitglieder haben zum Großteil selbst ein Kind mit Behinderung und wissen daher genau, welche Maßnahmen gesetzt werden müssen, um die Situation zu verändern.

Um die Finanzierung der Arbeit in Kenia zu gewährleisten, wurde 2014 der österreichische Verein zur Unterstützung der Child Destiny ins Leben gerufen.

Privates
Engagement

Unsere Arbeit lebt vom privatem Engagement der Teammitglieder. Sie investieren viel Herzblut und Stunden ihrer Freizeit, um die Situation für Kinder mit Behinderung in Kenia zu verbessern.

Direkte
Finanzierung

Alle Spenden, die in Österreich gesammelt werden, kommen direkt den Kindern mit Behinderung im zu Gute. Mit dem Geld wird das Tageszentrum- und Therapiezentrum im Slum Kibera finanziert.

Hilfe zur
Selbsthilfe

Die Organisation hat zum Ziel die Lebensbedingungen so zu verändern, dass die alleinerziehenden Mütter von Kindern mit Behinderung wieder einer Arbeit nachgehen und für sich selbst sorgen können.

Verzicht auf Werbeausgaben

Es ist uns ein großes Anliegen, die Ausgaben in Österreich so gering wie möglich zu halten. Deshalb verzichten wir auf unnötige Druckartikel z.B.: Werbe- und Postzusendungen sowie Werbeartikel.

Team Österreich

Claudia Patka

Gründerin | Obfrau

Während eines Volontariats in Kenia lernte Claudia Eltern von Kindern mit Behinderung kennen, mit denen sie gemeinsam die Child Destiny Foundation gründete. Seitdem ist sie ehrenamtlich für das Fundraising und die Vereinsarbeit in Österreich zuständig. Claudia ist Ergotherapeutin und Lebens- und Sozialberaterin.

Manuela Patka

Obfrau Stelv. | Grafik

Die Architektin Manuela kümmert sich in ihrer Freizeit unter anderem, um den grafischen Auftritt der Child Destiny Foundation sowie den Instagram-Account. Zusätzlich hat sie die Betreuung des Online-Shops über und produziert ebenfalls ehrenamtlich die einzigartigen Ohrring-Kollektionen für den guten Zweck.

Edith Neumeister

Kassiererin

Als gelernte Buchhalterin hat Edith immer einen Überblick über die Finanzen der Child Destiny Foundation und leistet unbezahlbar wichtige Arbeit im Hintergrund. Seit der Vereinsgründung ist Edith im Leitungsteam tätig und hat einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Erreichung der Spendenabsetzbarkeit beigetragen.

Stefan Riedlberger

Rechnungsprüfer

Manfred Richter

Rechnungsprüfer

Team Kenia

Florence Arum

Gründerin | Projektmanagerin

Gemeinsam mit ihrem Mann Alex leitet Florence ehrenamtlich die Child Destiny Foundation in Kenia. Als Mutter eines Kindes mit Behinderung weiß sie, welche Schritte gesetzt werden müssen, um die Lebensbedingungen zu verbessern. Florence hat einen Bachelor in medizinischer Biotechnologie und unterrichtet hauptberuflich.

Alex Omondi

Gründer | Projektmanager

Bevor Alex gemeinsam mit seiner Frau die Child Destiny Foundation gegründet hat, arbeitete er als Projektmanager in diversen Hilfsprojekten in Kenia. Hauptberuflich ist er als Apotheker und Mediziner tätig. Durch seine liebevolle Vaterrolle agiert er als Vorbild für Väter von Kindern mit Behinderung.
WhatsApp-Image-2021-02-02-at-20.16.03

Sylvia Awour

Betreuerin

Sylvia ist alleinerziehende Mutter von zwei Kindern und wuchs im Kibera Slum auf. Nach ihrem Highschool-Abschluss war es für sie aufgrund einer Vorerkrankung nicht möglich einer geregelten Arbeit nachzugehen. Seit der Geburt ihres Sohnes, der im Therapie- und Tageszentrum der Child Destiny Foundation betreut wird, ist Sylvia Teil der CDF-Familie. In ihrer Arbeit als Betreuerin ist sie sehr engagiert und kümmert sich liebevoll um die Kinder.

Evance Olouch

Ergotherapeut

Evance ist diplomierter Ergotherapeut und seit November 2021 Teil der Child Destiny Foundation. Bei den täglichen Therapiesitzungen fördert er die Kinder mit Behinderung beim Erlernen motorischer und sensorischer Fertigkeiten. Durch seinen humorvollen Charakter und seiner lösungsorientierten Herangehensweise, unterstützt er die Kinder spielerisch bei ihrer körperlichen Entwicklung.

Felista Muturi

Ergotherapeutin

Felista hat im Anschluss zu ihrer Ausbildung als Ergotherapeutin im März 2022 bei der Child Destiny Foundation angefangen. Zusammen mit Evance arbeitet sie mit den Kindern mit Behinderung daran, mehr Selbstständigkeit bei den Aktivitäten des täglichen Lebens zu erreichen. Dabei werden wichtige Meilensteine in der kindlichen Entwicklung angepeilt, sowie fehlende Funktionen (wieder-)erlernt.

Lydia Khavtsa

Tagesmutter

Als Mutter eines Jungen mit Behinderung weiß Tagesmutter Lydia ganz genau, worauf es bei der Kinderbetreuung ankommt. Ihren Sohn Brian begleitet sie seit 2017 ins Therapiezentrum. Seit 2019 arbeitet sie Vollzeit bei der Child Destiny Foundation, wo sie mit ihrem positiven und energischen Gemüt dafür sorgt, dass alle Kinder gut versorgt sind. Das Essen, welches sie täglich frisch zubereitet, schmeckt Klein und Groß!

Jose Omondi Ochieng

Hausmeister

Jose ist mit seiner alleinerziehenden Mutter im Slum Kibera aufgewachsen. Nach seinem Schulabschluss im Jahr 2016 hat er eine Zeit lang für den “National Youth Service“ gearbeitet, bevor er im Januar 2021 zur Child Destiny Foundation gewechselt hat. Mit seiner ruhigen Art hält er stets ein wachsames Auge auf die Kinder, kümmert sich um die Reinigung und führt jegliche Wartungsarbeiten im Gebäude durch.

Sheila Akoth

volontärin

Die Nichte von Projektmanager Alex und Florence ist fast täglich im Tageszentrum, wo sie Tagesmutter Lydia tatkräftig unter die Arme greift. Mit ihrer geduldigen und liebevollen Art kommt sie bei den Kindern ganz besonders gut an. Viel Spaß macht ihr vor allem das Kochen, wobei sie auch bei neuen Gerichten keine Scheu hat.

Glorine

die Visionärin

Doch sie hat es beim Träumen nicht belassen. Glorine Awour’s Liebe zu ihrem Sohn, ihre Kämpfernatur und ihr Glaube an eine bessere Zukunft waren der Grundstein für die Gründung der Child Destiny Foundation.

Es war ihre Vision, ein Zentrum für geistig und körperlich behinderte Kinder aufzubauen und einen Ort zu schaffen, an dem sich alle Kinder wohl und geborgen fühlen und die Art von Unterstützung bekommen, die sie benötigen.

Im Jänner 2018 ist Glorine nach ihrer Krebserkrankung leider viel zu früh von uns gegangen und hat ein großes Loch in unseren Herzen hinterlassen. Durch die Arbeit der Child Destiny Foundation wird Glorine’s Vision weitergelebt.

Ein Grund zu handeln:

Das Leben im Slum Kibera

de_DEGerman